Candidates to replace Jackson Jr. must file by Monday - Los Angeles News | FOX 11 LA KTTV

Nearly 2 dozen candidates file for 2nd District

Posted: Updated:
CHICAGO (FOX 32 News) -

Nearly two dozen candidates have filed to replace former U.S. Rep. Jesse Jackson Jr. in Congress, including his one-time Democratic primary challenger former Congresswoman Debbie Halvorson.

The filing deadline with the Illinois State Board of Elections was 5 p.m. on Monday. At that time the office had 22 candidates listed on its website, including 17 Democrats and five Republicans. Jackson won re-election, but resigned Nov. 21 citing health problems and an ongoing federal investigation.

Candidates include Alderman Anthony Beale, State Senator Toi Hutchinson, and former Congressman Mel Reynolds, Eric M. Wallace, Anthony W. Williams, James H. Taylor, Sr., Paul McKinley, Beverly E. Reid, Lenny McAllister, Charles Rayburn, Gregory Haynes, Victor Jonathan, Napoleon Harris, Kelly Robin, and Clifford Eagleton.

The primary for Illinois' 2nd district will be held Feb. 26, followed by a special election on April 9.

Former congresswoman Debbie Halvorson is also in the race. Her campaign will file her petitions in Springfield on Monday.

Halvorson served one term in Congress in Illinois' 11th district.

She ran in the March 2012 primary and lost to Jackson before the 2012 General Election.

You can find information all of these candidates on the Illinois Board of Elections website.

Share Your Photos & Video

Powered by WorldNow

1999 S. Bundy Dr.
Los Angeles CA 90025

Main: (310) 584-2000
News Tips? (310) 584-2025

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices