Movie Critic Matt Atchity: We Review Television Too! - Los Angeles News | FOX 11 LA KTTV

Movie Critic Matt Atchity: We Review Television Too!

Posted: Updated:

Rotten Tomatoes is known for posting reviews for movies in theaters and on DVD. But starting Tuesday, the website began posting reviews for TV shows. Matt Atchity made a rare Tuesday appearance to talk about Rotten Tomatoes TV Zone.

"We're going to have tomatometers for scripted primetime television..." Unlike the movies, shows will not have just one set of reviews.

"We are doing reviews at the season level, so this is Breaking Bad season 5, this is Game of Thrones season 3."

Rotten Tomatoes TV Zone is debuting, not coincidentally, the week before the Emmys. Matt talked about how, just like with movies, there's sometimes a gap between what TV critics think and what viewers like. For instance, "Louie" is the best reviewed comedy...but doesn't have a big audience. Modern Family on the other hand is a hit show for ABC and an Emmy darling...it's also the lowest rated out of the nominees.

"Critics are watching everything whether they want to or not...so if you're not into Modern Family...the audience thats enjoying that is not the one that's like "oh, I'm on the fence about this, I don't like this kind of show but I'm going to watch it anyway."

Matt also noticed a big difference in how movies and TV get reviewed.

"With movies, the bigger the movie, the more critics weigh in on it...where as with television it's kinda the opposite. The bigger the audience, the less likely are that critics are going to consistently review it."

 

Atchity is the editor in chief for the pop-culture website "Rotten Tomatoes." He also hosts a new show on Sirius XM called "Rotten Tomatoes Radio."

The weekly one hour call in show airs Tuesdays and Thursdays at 4:00 pm to 5:00 pm.

‘Rotten Tomatoes TV Zone' is up now on the Rotten Tomatoes website.

  • The Latest From Good Day LAMore>>

  • Billy J. Kramer: I Wanted Something Different To Follow It All With

    Billy J. Kramer: I Wanted Something Different To Follow It All With

    Tuesday, September 2 2014 12:48 PM EDT2014-09-02 16:48:14 GMT
    Born and raised in Liverpool, signed by an inexperienced agent named Brian Epstein, hustled into the studio with a genius producer named George Martin...and out of that session came a hit song called "Do You Want To Know A Secret." Now here's the twist…we're not talking about The Beatles.
    Born and raised in Liverpool, signed by an inexperienced agent named Brian Epstein, hustled into the studio with a genius producer named George Martin...and out of that session came a hit song called "Do You Want To Know A Secret." Now here's the twist…we're not talking about The Beatles.

  • Kara Griffin: Bari Studio Workout

    Kara Griffin: Bari Studio Workout

    Tuesday, September 2 2014 12:37 PM EDT2014-09-02 16:37:57 GMT
    [VIEW PHOTO GALLERY] Today Kara Griffin and Michelle Pellizzon are with Maria and Araksya introducing Bari Studio, once only available in New York City's posh Tribeca area - this intense hybrid, full-body workout recently opened their first West Coast location in Newport Beach.
    [VIEW PHOTO GALLERY] Today Kara Griffin and Michelle Pellizzon are with Maria and Araksya introducing Bari Studio, once only available in New York City's posh Tribeca area - this intense hybrid, full-body workout recently opened their first West Coast location in Newport Beach.
  • Mark Feuerstein: The Writers Balancing The Light And The Dark

    Mark Feuerstein: The Writers Balancing The Light And The Dark

    Tuesday, September 2 2014 12:27 PM EDT2014-09-02 16:27:40 GMT
    Mark is an American actor, who is best known for his main role as Dr. Henry "Hank" Lawson in USA Network's series, Royal Pains. It airs its sixth season finale Tuesday night, September 2nd.
    Mark is an American actor, who is best known for his main role as Dr. Henry "Hank" Lawson in USA Network's series, Royal Pains. It airs its sixth season finale Tuesday night, September 2nd.
  • Experts and Other GuestsExperts and Other GuestsMore>>

  • Mayor Eric Garcetti: We Need To Make Sure People Have Enough To Spend For The Economy

    Mayor Eric Garcetti: We Need To Make Sure People Have Enough To Spend For The Economy

    Tuesday, September 2 2014 11:21 AM EDT2014-09-02 15:21:24 GMT
    Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti has used Labor Day to call for raising the city's minimum wage. Garcetti on Monday announced a proposal hike from the current $9 per hour to $13.25 in 2017.
    Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti has used Labor Day to call for raising the city's minimum wage. Garcetti on Monday announced a proposal hike from the current $9 per hour to $13.25 in 2017.
  • Sutter Zachman: Just Sort Of Following My Idols

    Sutter Zachman: Just Sort Of Following My Idols

    Monday, September 1 2014 1:29 PM EDT2014-09-01 17:29:56 GMT

    Sutter Zachman had his first record deal when he was barely out of his teens. You may have seen the Orange County native was on stage at the Largo and other hot clubs around LA. He then left town...after what he called a few "bouts" with the music business, but now he is back with a new EP called ‘Repeat Offender.'

    Sutter Zachman had his first record deal when he was barely out of his teens. You may have seen the Orange County native was on stage at the Largo and other hot clubs around LA. He then left town...after what he called a few "bouts" with the music business, but now he is back with a new EP called ‘Repeat Offender.'

  • Matt Iseman & Ben Melick: This Course Is An Entirely Different Beast

    Matt Iseman & Ben Melick: This Course Is An Entirely Different Beast

    Monday, September 1 2014 12:27 PM EDT2014-09-01 16:27:55 GMT

    Matt Iseman is the host and Ben Melick is one of the contestants on ‘America Ninja Warrior.'

    Matt Iseman is the host and Ben Melick is one of the contestants on ‘America Ninja Warrior.'

Powered by WorldNow

KTTV FOX 11
1999 S. Bundy Dr.
Los Angeles CA 90025

Main: (310) 584-2000
News Tips? (310) 584-2025

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices