Andy Serkis previews 'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes' - Los Angeles News | FOX 11 LA KTTV

Andy Serkis previews 'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes'

Posted: Updated:
Actor Andy Serkis stars in the Dawn of the Planet of the Apes. Actor Andy Serkis stars in the Dawn of the Planet of the Apes.
  • Andy Serkis previews 'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes'More>>

  • 'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes': Bringing apes to life

    'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes': Bringing apes to life

    Friday, July 11 2014 10:38 PM EDT2014-07-12 02:38:06 GMT
    The genetically enhanced apes from the previous film "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" inherit a post-apocalyptic San Francisco in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes." And Andy Serkis reprises his role as top-chimp Caesar. Just as the apes have evolved, so has the technology that depicts them.Through performance capture, we've seen Serkis transform into iconic characters like King Kong and Gollum from "The Lord of the Rings" series.
    The genetically enhanced apes from the previous film "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" inherit a post-apocalyptic San Francisco in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes." And Andy Serkis reprises his role as top-chimp Caesar. Just as the apes have evolved, so has the technology that depicts them.Through performance capture, we've seen Serkis transform into iconic characters like King Kong and Gollum from "The Lord of the Rings" series.
NEW YORK (MYFOXNY) - The new movie 'Dawn of the Planet of the Apes' brings viewers along for the evolution of it's stars: apes.  The film takes place before the iconic 1968 film 'Planet of the Apes' with Charlton Heston.

"That all happens after this sequence. We got back to the original series. We know where we’re going to end up which is the 1968 version," said Andy Serkis who plays Caesar.

Like the original film, Dawn of the Planet of the Apes is a social commentary.

“It’s very much about empathy and prejudice and the necessity to listen to whatever family you’re defending; it’s about being able to embrace the other side. There is a real moment of hope where they both can survive,” said Serkis.

Unlike the Heston hit, the movie which opens on Friday, uses performance capture and not costumes and heavy makeup to transform the characters.

"We use performance capture. Actors drive the digital avatars of the apes. All the acting happens on the set, then the visual affects team takes all the facial expressions, everything is translated to a digital ape’s face,” said Serkis.

For more on the movie, visit DawnOfApes.com

  • Today on Good DayToday on Good DayMore>>

  • Wendy Williams previews new season

    Wendy Williams previews new season

    Monday, September 15 2014 1:54 PM EDT2014-09-15 17:54:25 GMT
    Hot topics are back as Wendy Williams begins season six of her hit TV talk show.  Good Day NY's Rosanna Scotto caught up with Williams in her colorful office on set of The Wendy Williams Show. What's new for Williams' fans after the summer break? The radio DJ-turned-TV star says some old things will make a return along with some new items. "I insist, once a week, we'll probably have an all hot topics day."
    Hot topics are back as Wendy Williams begins season six of her hit TV talk show.  Good Day NY's Rosanna Scotto caught up with Williams in her colorful office on set of The Wendy Williams Show. What's new for Williams' fans after the summer break? The radio DJ-turned-TV star says some old things will make a return along with some new items. "I insist, once a week, we'll probably have an all hot topics day."
  • Gillibrand: I don't know who made 'porky' comment

    Gillibrand: I don't know who made 'porky' comment

    Monday, September 15 2014 12:53 PM EDT2014-09-15 16:53:12 GMT
    Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand, without naming any names, claims in a new book that male colleagues made off-color remarks about her appearance – with one even allegedly squeezing her stomach and telling her: “Don't lose too much weight now. I like my girls chubby.”  The 47-year-old Democratic New York senator discussed her new book, “Off the Sidelines,” in an interview with Good Day New York on Monday.
    Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand, without naming any names, claims in a new book that male colleagues made off-color remarks about her appearance – with one even allegedly squeezing her stomach and telling her: “Don't lose too much weight now. I like my girls chubby.”  The 47-year-old Democratic New York senator discussed her new book, “Off the Sidelines,” in an interview with Good Day New York on Monday.
  • Estelle returns with 'uplifting' album

    Estelle returns with 'uplifting' album

    Tuesday, September 9 2014 12:49 PM EDT2014-09-09 16:49:24 GMT
    Grammy award winner Estelle is back on the scene after being immersed in her soon-to-drop new album. “True Romance' is where I've been for the past year,” said Estelle. The London native's fourth studio album is being described by music critics as ‘inspirational' and ‘uplifting.' It's due in stores on Nov. 4.
    Grammy award winner Estelle is back on the scene after being immersed in her soon-to-drop new album. “True Romance' is where I've been for the past year,” said Estelle. The London native's fourth studio album is being described by music critics as ‘inspirational' and ‘uplifting.' It's due in stores on Nov. 4.
Powered by WorldNow

KTTV FOX 11
1999 S. Bundy Dr.
Los Angeles CA 90025

Main: (310) 584-2000
News Tips? (310) 584-2025

Didn't find what you were looking for?
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Fox Television Stations, Inc. and Worldnow. All Rights Reserved.
Privacy Policy | New Terms of Service What's new | Ad Choices